C++ Help Required

blake

School Cricketer
Online Cricket Games Owned
Wasn't sure where to post this - hopefully this is the right forum for it.

Anyway, I'm fairly new to C++. Been learning it a little bit from some online tutorials for a while now - although nothing consistent. I decided it was about time that I had a crack at trying to whip up a quick cricket simulator.

Now, for a C++ beginner, making a simulator is no easy feat. I'm struggling a lot and need some help with my code.

I thought it might have a chance to work - but when I run it, it doesn't seem to work.

So, let me run through the program for you.

Basically, there is no teams, or any players with the exception of Ponting and Flintoff. I have just tried to create a 1 v 1 type scenario with Flintoff bowling to Ponting each ball and then an amount of runs being determined.

Here is my algorithm to determine the amount of runs for each ball:

Batsman is given fixed values for each area. This represents their ability to play a shot in that location. These are the areas: wide outside off, outside off, off stump, middle stump, leg stump and outside leg. There is no other stats for the batsmen except for these. There is a rough number for each. Ricky Ponting's ability wide outside off is 6.125, his ability outside off is 4.1875, off stump is 4, straight is 4.875, leg stump is 6.875 and outside leg stump is 8.125.

These are the only batting values required.

For the bowlers, they have two values. Consistency and skill. Flintoff's consistency is 67.6, and his skill is 68.5. For now, I ruled them like this:

Skill = 100 - FC Bowling Average
Consistency = 100 - FC Bowling Strike Rate / 2

Here is how each ball is determined (a tricky process).

A random number between 1-50 is generated for the bowler. In my program, the variable for this is 'randcons'.

The bowler's consistency is multiplied by 1.66. Then, the random number just generated between 1-50 is added to the consistency * 1.66.

For example: