Debates?

ArcherMcKinley

School Cricketer
Online Cricket Games Owned
*Included a TL;DR(too long; didn't read)

-----

Discussion thread. Don't be fooled by the introduction >_>

-----

Hi! guys.

Archer McKinley speaking.. and, you probably don't know me.
I'm fairly new to Planet Cricket but am hopeful of having a long and delightful stay. I hail from Chennai, Tamil Nadu and am deeply interested in the sport(ya' know the one :)).

Anyway, enough with this introduction thingy. Let me proceed to explain the purpose of this thread.

-----

As the title clearly suggests, I've been wondering about the lack of debates (proper ones, not who's better than who >.>) in a cricket forum such as this. My brief browsing around the forums revealed that there was an attempt to make such debates back 2009. But since then there have been a rare few and none followed a standard procedural system.

To cut a long story shot, I'd like to, with your approval of course - conduct debates on various subjects concerned with the game we love(ya' know). I've referred to various popular debating sites on the internet and have come up with a system that should ensure friendly, yet grueling "team" debates.

-----

Given below is how the system works(it's just an example, mind you)..

The subject of the debate followed by a description or reason for the debate

Debate: Is Ricky Ponting's place in the Australian team justified?

Ricky Ponting, regarded by many- as the greatest Australian batsmen after Sir Donald Bradman has of-late been in very poor form. Many legends of the game have in-fact called for his retirement. Now this has lead to a burning question in the minds of Aussie fans, does Rick deserve his place in the side? Or should he step aside and make way for youngsters eagerly awaiting a spot in the national team? You decide.

There will be a poll that will mostly consist of two options. In this case, YES and NO.