ICC Women World Cup 2009 Details and Fixture


National Board President
Apr 16, 2008
Melbourne, Australia

The ICC Women's World Cup to be staged in Australia in 2009 will be the first to be played under the auspices of the ICC since its merger with the International Women's Cricket Council (IWCC) in 2005. Australia will defend the title it won after defeating India in the final in South Africa in 2005. The other seven teams to take part in the tournament include India, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa and Pakistan. The tournament has been staged twice each in England (1973 and 1993), India (1978 and 1997) and New Zealand (1982 and 2000) as well as Australia (1988) and South Africa (2005).
Group A : Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa
Group B : India, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan
South Africa and Pakistan qualified for the World Cup after reaching the final of the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifiers staged in Stellenbosch, South Africa, in March. For more details on the Qualifier click here. The Women's World Cup has been running for longer than the men's version and was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the hosts. Since then there have been a further seven tournaments with Australia winning five of them (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005), and England (in 1993) and New Zealand (2000) both triumphing once. ICC Women?s World Cup Match Schedule is as follows :
1 - B: Sat 7 Mar India v Pakistan Bowral
2 - B: Sat 7 Mar England v Sri Lanka Canberra
3 - A: Sun 8 Mar Australia v New Zealand North
4 - A: Sun 8 Mar West Indies v South Africa
5 - B: Mon 9 Mar Sri Lanka v Pakistan Canberra
6 - B: Tue 10 Mar India v England North Sydney
7 - A: Tue 10 Mar New Zealand v West Indies
8 - A: Tue 10 Mar Australia v South Africa Newcastle
9 - B: Thu 12 Mar England v Pakistan North
10 - B: Thu 12 Mar India v Sri Lanka Bankstown
11 - A: Thu 12 Mar Australia v West Indies
12 - A: Thu 12 Mar New Zealand v South Africa
13 - 7th Place: Sat 14 Mar 4th Group A v 4th

Group B North Sydney *
14 - Super 6: Sat 14 Mar Australia v India North Sydney
15 - Super 6: Sat 14 Mar New Zealand v England Bankstown
16 - Super 6: Sat 14 Mar West Indies v Sri Lanka Drummoyne
17 - Super 6: Mon 16 Mar Australia v Sri Lanka Bankstown
18 - Super 6: Tue 17 Mar New Zealand v India North Sydney
19 - Super 6: Tue 17 Mar West Indies v England Drummoyne
20 - Super 6: Thu 19 Mar Australia v England North Sydney
21 - Super 6: Thu 19 Mar West Indies v India Bankstown
22 - Super 6: Thu 19 Mar New Zealand v Sri Lanka


23 - 3rd Place: Sat 21 Mar 3rd v 4th Bankstown

24 - 5th Place: Sat 21 Mar 5th v 6th Drummoyne

25 - Final: Sun 22 Mar 1st v 2nd North Sydney
Last edited:


National Board President
Apr 16, 2008
Melbourne, Australia

Users who are viewing this thread