Win 7 RC about to expire??!

MasterBlaster76

ICC Chairman
Online Cricket Games Owned
Remember, you can always use something like dropbox.com that gives you 2 free GB of online storage backup. More importantly, if you do not have an external HDD, you can use dropbox to backup 2GB of data at a time on another computer.

I've backed up using Windows 7 default backup options - I'm a bit confused though - the backup folders on F:\ are coming up as a few KB and the backup size is actually around 40gb. Are they just massively compressed or something?

One other thing - when it comes to restoring my files after installing Win 7, how do I prevent the backup from overwriting the clean Win 7 installation? The backup's a complete copy of what was on D:\, so surely that includes the old (Win RC) installation? This is actually the first time I've used backup in this way, so I'm a complete newbie at it, I'm afraid!

Anyway, Win 7 Home Premium Upgrade's ordered now - should be here before the March 1st 'timebomb'. :)

barmyarmy

Retired Administrator
When I installed the new version it simply created a directory called windows.old. You can export/import all your themes and settings as well.

MasterBlaster76

ICC Chairman
Thanks for that, Colin. I'll do the same and the backup will be there if I need it. :) Did the full version come with any extra stuff like themes and so on?

MasterBlaster76

ICC Chairman
I've now installed Win 7 and most things are fine. There are a couple of snags: ZoneAlarm doesn't want to work anymore - is there a 64bit version? I've come to trust and rely upon ZoneAlarm. Also, all my bookmarks for Firefox have gone. I backed up everything on the partition that was going to be affected (D:\), so does anyone know how to get them back? I've already restored the files from the backup.