On the fence because of the AI

adikal

Club Captain
Online Cricket Games Owned
The AI in cricket games has always been disappointing. I've yet to find a cricket game where the AI plays according to the match situation. As a result, I haven't bought one in a long time.

The typical example is when chasing a target, the AI batsmen gets bowled out for low scores, instead of planning the run chase properly. The same applies for bowling, when the AI could utilize its highest rated bowlers to target the best batsman in the middle overs instead of sticking to a predefined script of bowling them at the death by when the game may already be over.

From what I've heard, the AI in this game has the same issues. This is particularly disappointing given how much passion the developers have shown for this game and how many improvements they've made in the other aspects, e.g. batting and bowling controls.

Is there any hope for the AI to be fixed in a patch?

Being an AI researcher myself and an avid cricket fan, I've spent some time thinking about designing a good AI for a cricket game. While it's not easy (cricket does have its complexities), it is certainly doable and I'm happy to share my thoughts with whoever is interested (for free obviously).

Unfortunately the only thing worth shouting about in this game is the fundamentals. I have to think all the stuff ross said about releasing the game last year was rubbish. Either that or big ant have sat on an exceptionally buggy game for 6 months. This game is overrated due to the shockingly poor market. As a cricket game its the best one yet but if you look at the bigger picture its well well below par

It's hard to know whether the AI is any good because some people lack any I.

@gaia If your are willing to share it with common folks im certainly all ears to hear your ideas if you can share it here would be cool, as everyone will be able to give their opinions too.:yes