Red Hat Linux 9

P

pal

Guys I want to install Red Hat Linux 9 on my computer. Being an amateur in computer thingys, can anyone tell me how to partition drives, please??

:sorry: :sorry:

I think theres a program called Partition Magic or sumthin, i dunno if that partitions the HDD though

Use Ranish Partition Manager.It's free.Have a look at the read me file for instructions.
Also a previous Digit issue(probably August or Sept,03) covered the topici.e. How to install Linux?

BTW: I don't think you should install Linux if you're only an amateur at Computers, coz i think it's pretty complex to work.

Guys I have never used Linux before, what do you think are the plus points of Linux?

Squiz, what things are complex in Linux because you are probably right and if they are too complex, I might not want to install it.... :sorry: :sorry:

I also looked at some screenshots of the OS and the graphical interface looked similar to XP.... :unsure:

You do not need any partition manager. You coulod partition your HDD during the installation. Select the drive you wish to partition and set the size you want it to be.

btw, when you install Red Hat, right at the beginning before the installation begins, it is better to type at the command promt
linux hda=nodma
else you might encounter some complexities, even aborting the installation.

And, the graphics in Red Hat is way better than Windows XP. :D

I've never used any linux Pal so i don't know if it's complex, this is just goin by what I've heard

Linux is not at all complex.Infact some people beleive that Linux is more user friendly now than its MS counter-part.I can explain in detail how to partition ur hd to install.Here are the steps:
1:>Use Partition Magic v7.0 or v8.0,anyone.(very user friendly)
2:>Start partition magic.
Now let us assume a few things,
I assume you have a C partition with 10 GB and D with 10 GB more.(a 20 GB hard disk)
3:>Lets say u have 5 GB free in D partition.