Ebay, paypal and credit cards

MasterBlaster76

ICC Chairman
Online Cricket Games Owned
I've been using paypal and ebay for a couple of months now - some of you might remember that I used to say that 'I don't do ebay', well that was before I signed up for paypal.

However, I've recently read some pretty alarming things about paypal and it's severely damaged my trust in it. So, what I want to know is can you still buy on ebay just using a credit card? If you do so, are you giving out your financial details to any Tom, Dick or Harry or does everything go through ebay as it does with Amazon? I know this to be true because I have sold things on Amazon before and I never saw anyone's payment details.

I'd imagine selling on ebay might be more than troublesome without using paypal - do people sell on ebay through a credit card?

The other reason I'd rather my money was sent straight to my card rather than paypal is not everyone accepts paypal. A great example for that is Amazon, where I buy a very large percentage of my online shopping - even now, I'm expecting a couple of people's Christmas presents from them. I know that it's possible to have paypal send your money straight to your bank, but I've read so many horror stories about that process that I've now removed my bank's details from paypal.

So I'd be interested to hear anyone's views and if anyone here has had any trouble with paypal? One of the things I've read that is extremely off putting is that paypal will nearly always refund a buyer if they claim to either have a problem with an item, or if they claim said item hasn't arrived. Indeed, I've read that even sending items by Recorded Delivery isn't enough to cover yourself. It's hardly fair that anyone could basically buy an item from you, then decided they'd like it for free and flag up a complain against you with paypal!