Help to study CBSE style.

ZoraxDoom

Respected Legend
Online Cricket Games Owned
Okay. I am currently trying to study Maths, Chemistry and Physics CBSE style by myself at home.

I'm studying them from IIT Enterance Examination preperation books. The reason for this is that in 2 years, when I'm done with my A levels, I want to give the IIT Enternace examination exams a shot. I won't mind if I don't get in (The odds of me getting in aren't very good anyways), and have other colleges lined up to go to just incase.
So, even if I don't get in, I believe studying these books will be very useful. It will help make my A levels study easier, and will make the transition from A levels to an Engineering college easier too (Since I hear that CBSE kids are more well prepared for Engineering colleges in Maths and Phsycis than O levels / A Levels students.)

Anyways, on topic, I need some help. I'm stuck.

I started with Physics, and must say that MLT system for finding out different Physical Quantities (Dimensional Formulae) is very awesome. So much more useful, and maybe not as simple, but once I get used to this there will be no going back to the old way when it comes to calculating Velocity, Acceleration, Power, etc. Will be more convenient then, and will help in dividing or multiplying different quantities.
Anyways, I got stuck going that as the book brought up Logarithms, something every CBSE student knows and makes every GCSE/IGCSE student go "Huh?".
Now, I could ask for help on that, but chose to start maths and figure it out myself.

I then got stuck on some parts doing Complex numbers (The first chapter for maths).
The chapter itself was easy, but I didn't get some terms, like Conjugate (The Conjugate of Z (Where Z= a + ib) is a - ib). I figured that out, and used it in the further parts, but I'm still a bit unsure. Can someone give me more details on what Conjugate means, and maybe more examples?