Problem: Need help while batting (playing through off without edging)

cricket_online

ICC Board Member
Online Cricket Games Owned
  1. Don Bradman Cricket 14 - PS3
  2. Don Bradman Cricket 14 - PS4
Folks,
Would love to get some tips regarding playing through the off side without edging every few deliveries. I mostly play career mode and have been playing the game on PS3 since it came out on console. The latest patch (2.5) did help make the game, especially batting, better as it became easier to keep the ball on the ground. But after spending lot of time playing the game post patch 2.5, it seems playing through the off side in the career mode has become a near impossible task.

I tend to edge to wkt keeper/slips/gully/point etc. while playing shots to the off side. It doesn't really matter whether I'm new to the crease or have my confidence full; playing through the off side remains fraught with too much risk. If not edge, I tend to play on - have stopped counting the number of times I have seen the 'Bad luck mate' message. I have tried to vary my timing by playing early as well as late but no matter the timing I can't seem to stop edging. I tried practice mode (practice match) and I was consistently able to get good to perfect timing & footwork feedback but in the game I keep on edging consistently. Things have become so bad that my wagon wheel contains shots exclusively through the fine leg to mid wkt region.

IMO batting was best in DBC 14 after the 1st patch which came out a few short weeks after the game's release. Patch 2 added the airy shots and the current patch (2.5) seems to make edging while playing through the off side way too random. If anyone has any tips on how to play through the off side without edging every few deliveries, pls do share the same coz as of now batting in career mode has become more of a chore since it's not much fun playing exclusively to the leg.