How do people play the game? Game Modes

Rumple43

Survival Games Finalist
Survival Games Finalist
Profile Flag
England
So, I feel like I'm at a bit of a cross roads at the moment. Figured I'd reach out to you fine folk for potential solutions/ideas. I'm new to Ashes/DBC, not new to cricket, or gaming.

I got this game about 3 weeks ago (Christmas, win!!). Since then, I've largely played test matches, various conditions and teams. Some games through to a conclusion, some just for sections to see how the sliders/modifiers affected the game, or to test difficulty settings. I've also played some T20 games and I'm generally happy there to.

So now.....what do I do?! I booted up a career mode this afternoon and played my first 3 day game as an all-rounder. It didn't draw me in at all (tiniest of sample sizes, I admit). Feels like it's going to a real grind through a lot of games to improve, and I wasn't a fan of playing in tiny stadiums with poor players. I'm usually a big fan of single player careers in sports games (I did 8 years of one in Madden, including write ups etc) but yeah, today didn't grab me one bit.

So, tours? I like the idea of playing an international calendar, tour X country, have Y country and Z country come to you etc, playing in different conditions on different pitches, that's awesome, but the lack of progression (no real form for players, no stats, no progression, retirement, new players coming through) series to series, tour to tour, year on year, also puts me off a bit. Perhaps that's something I could do myself?

So yeah, I feel like I've got Ashes set up right now, playing realistically, enjoyably, but now I've no idea what to do or how to play it :)

Suggestions, or descriptions of how you play are more than welcome

Spoobir

Thread of the Month March 2018