Cricket and game questions

vladiator

School Cricketer
Online Cricket Games Owned
Hi everyone.

Being a Russian, I never cared too much about cricket. However, recently I have become so interested (thanks to moving to NZ and being forced into it by my Sri Lankan girlfriend :mad) that I decided to buy EA Cricket 2005 for my Xbox.

Just like many other people, I have troubles to score runs in the game - especially using six hit button (L1). I have read some comments, and a usual advice is to time and direct a shot correctly. Being a beginner, I do not really know how to do it. Hence, my questions:

1) when to use a front foot or back foot shot? would you use the backfoot when the ball lands close to the batsman and frontfoot when is it further away?

2) timing - do you hit the shot button once the ball is released by the bowler or when it lands, or at some other time?

3) Sometimes my batsman hit a ball with straight hands, so that the ball goes straight out of boundaries (although often it flies only few metres). Other times a batsman hits it in some clumsy pose with bended hands (no swing) - and it is almost always caught by a fielder. Why is that? Do I position myself incorrectly?

4) confidence - when do you start to go for sixes? I usually let a player to hit a ball 6-10 times before starting to use a 6-hit button, even though the confidence meter would only have 1-2 blocks filled. Do you fill up your confidence meter before going for it?

All in all, when I go for sixes, anything can happen. In my second game ever, Hayden scored a century while hitting 10 sixes. I finished the match (20 overs game) with 176 runs. Since that I am lucky to hit 30 runs with the same guy.

I guess I have to mention that I play on EASY (stop laughing!) and I always play 20 over matches. And as I mentioned above, I play it on Xbox.